New advances for older Australians – the 2021 innovAGEING National Awards are now open

3 years ago
innovAGEING > Media + Blog > Media > New advances for older Australians – the 2021 innovAGEING National Awards are now open
Category: Media

With the Aged Care Quality and Safety Royal Commission and Federal Government signalling further changes to improve aged care and retirement living, innovAGEING is delighted to announce – along with its proud Foundation Partners, the Commonwealth Bank and KPMG Australia – nominations for the innovAGEING National Awards are now open.

Now in its third year, the National Awards highlight organisational and technological innovations to help older Australians live better, while promoting the great accomplishments of companies and organisations that are centred on our elders.

“With the Royal Commission’s Final Report and the Government’s response, the sector is buzzing with the prospect of more existential changes to come,” said Merlin Kong, Head of innovAGEING.

“We endorse the need for sector transformation, with providers and their partners making tangible changes to help older people, the workforce, and systems to foster quality care and improve livelihoods.  

“There has been extensive innovation activity in our sector over the last three years, and we want to see it in every corner of Australia to improve older lives.

“We are encouraged to see organisational change and technology adoption initiatives focusing on supporting sector workers to deliver better care, and other high-value activities.

“I am thrilled to continue this Awards program with our Foundation Partners—their understanding of our sector and commitment to improving the wellbeing of older Australians and sector workforce is superb.

“Supporting innovAGEING, along with their own innovations, the Commonwealth Bank and KPMG Australia are evolutionising quality older living in our country.”

Commonwealth Bank is committed to supporting providers across the Aged Care Sector who continue to transform and reimagine their programs and services for older Australians.

“The Federal Government’s response to the Royal Commission will help ensure focus remains on building a sustainable Aged Services Sector, putting the needs of the customer firmly at the centre of all decision making,” said Commonwealth Bank National Director Healthcare Kaizaad Mehta.

“We see this as a great opportunity for providers working across the aged care spectrum to drive improved outcomes for their clients by using design thinking methodologies to innovate current service and delivery models across the sector.”

At KPMG Australia, and in partnership with innovAGEING, we believe in fostering innovation and transformation in providers and across the aged care sector to support delivery of the reform agenda.

“In light of the release of the Royal Commission’s Final report and the call to action required, there is no better time for providers to adopt innovative initiatives as they respond,” Nicki Doyle, Partner KPMG Australia.

“Although there is a lot of work to be done, innovation will support providers and the sector through its transformative journey.”

We are excited to call for nominations for the 2021 innovAGEING National Awards, from aged care providers, and organisations that have partnered with a provider on an innovation project.

The awards categories are:

  • Improving Consumer Choice
  • Enhancing Consumer Experience
  • Realising Wellness and Re-Ablement
  • Increasing Care and Service Productivity
  • Increasing Access to Care and Services
  • Age Services Innovator of the Year

The innovAGEING National Awards are now open until 15 October 2021.

KPMG Australia will be hosting the Awards event in Sydney on 25 November 2021.

More information and details on how to nominate are available here.